Whoops

Hello all,

Firstly, I’d like to apologize about not blogging on Saturday. This weekend was consumed by a massive urge to watch the new season of Orange is the New Black…so yeah, sorry about that. BUT to make up for it, I’ll do two (that’s right, TWO) blog posts this week, starting with this one!

So last week, you didn’t miss much. My time was mostly spent trying to figure out what exactly I should be doing in the lab. Since my work is mostly all computer-based and doesn’t involve me messing around with chemicals, I spend most of my time unsupervised. With the lack of supervision, that means two things: (1) I get to go on YouTube when I get bored or stuck and (2) I am basically figuring out how to analyze functional metagenomic data as I go along. Neslihan iand I have basically just been meeting every day to go over my progress, and so far she is happy with my work. I guess that means I’m doing something (somewhat) right! But yeah, enough about that.

In other news, there were a ton of goats on the hill by our cafeteria last week; when I say a ton, I mean A WHOLE LOT OF GOATS. Naturally, I just had to take a picture of this. At the lab, they apparently use the goats as natural lawnmowers to help prevent fires. Totally had no clue this was even a thing here!

Anyway, that is pretty much all that I have right now. I’ll be sure to update if anything interesting happens!

Leave a Reply

